Ken Raggio Awarded Statewide Award

Raggio Miskel 2016 CLE Award

Ken Raggio was awarded the 2016 Joseph P. McKnight Best Family Law CLE Article Award at the 2016 Advanced Family Law Course held in San Antonio.  The article, co authored with (now) Collin County District Judge Emily Miskel is entitled Electronically Stored Information A-Z: Acquire, Analyze, Admit and was presented to the 2015 Advanced Family Law Course.

The Awards Committee of the Family Law Section of the State Bar of Texas reviewed hundreds of articles from all the various CLE (Continuing Legal Education) presentations in the area of Family Law from 2015 in making the selection.  The Award is named for the late legendary SMU professor of law Joseph P. McKnight, who died in 2015 after teaching family law at SMU for 60 years. He was the most prolific and respected author in Texas in family law.  McKnight also participated in the   State Bar’s Task Force in 1966 and 1967 that was spearheaded by then-Family Law Section Chair Louise B. Raggio (Ken’s mom) that led to the passage by the Texas legislature of the seminal Marital Property Act of 1967. (Ken, in high school then, is the only remaining person who participated in the signing of the Law by then Governor John Connally.) This Law completely changed and modernized Texas family law, and was the basis of the Texas Family Code, completed by McKnight, Raggio, and others by 1973.  It was the first unified set of family laws in the nation.

The Advanced Family Law Course is the largest CLE event in the nation, attended each year by up to 2100 Texas Lawyers and Judges with a faculty this year of 116.

Professor McKnight’s photo is in the background

Get Help Now
Dallas Divorce Lawyers
Main Office

Raggio & Raggio, PLLC is based in Dallas, Texas. We represent clients throughout North Texas, in the cities of Dallas, Plano, Frisco, McKinney, Allen, Richardson, Irving, Highland Park, University Park, Park Cities, Garland, Mesquite, Rockwall, Fort Worth and Denton, as well as Dallas County, Denton County, Tarrant County and Rockwall County.