Dallas Divorce Courts’ Mediation Policies

Some helpful hints and suggestions:

  1. Hand-deliver or mail the Order appointing Family Court Services to conduct mediation or the social study directly to Family Court Services, George Allen Courts Building, 600 Commerce St., Suite 201, Dallas, Texas, 75202. The Court Clerks do not routinely forward orders to Family Court Services.
  2. An Order must be signed by a District Judge or Associate Judge. A Masters or Associate Judge’s Recommendation Sheet is not sufficient. The Court won’t sign the order until the required fees have been paid.
  3. For social studies, the fee is paid in the Child Support Office on the 1st Floor of the George Allen Courts Building. The social study cannot begin until the fee is paid. If the fee is waived by the Court, bring that to the attention of Family Court Services. Fee receipts are picked up every afternoon by Family Court Services.
  4. Complete all information requested on any forms – including fax numbers.
  5. For mediation, deliver the completed and signed Order to Family Court Services no later than the Friday prior to the time the client is scheduled to attend orientation. (Orientation is held on Tuesdays). Schedule orientation when you deliver the Order.
  6. If your trial is scheduled more than 4 months after the social study has been completed, a new court order is needed if an update is requested by either party. A $100.00 fee may be assessed for the update.
  7. Notify the Family Court Services counselor of the trial date in adequate time for them to schedule for the court appearance. Issue a subpoena.

There is a 15-page booklet entitled “Attorney’s Guide to Family Court Services” available at Family Court Services that will help answer most of your questions.

Get Help Now
Dallas Divorce Lawyers
Main Office

Raggio & Raggio, PLLC is based in Dallas, Texas. We represent clients throughout North Texas, in the cities of Dallas, Plano, Frisco, McKinney, Allen, Richardson, Irving, Highland Park, University Park, Park Cities, Garland, Mesquite, Rockwall, Fort Worth and Denton, as well as Dallas County, Denton County, Tarrant County and Rockwall County.